



Fact Sheet for National Centers of Academic Excellence in Cyber Operations (NCAE-CO)

The National Security Agency's Centers of Academic Excellence in Cyber Operations (NCAE-CO) program designates academic programs that have integrated cyber operations information coursework into the academic disciplines of computer science, computer engineering, and/or electrical engineering; students that graduate from a NCAE-CO designated program understand the technology of the cyber domain as well as the policy, social, legal and ethical aspects of conducting cyber operations.

As part of the of President's National Initiative for Cybersecurity Education, the NCAE-CO program focuses on developing specialized cybersecurity skills for the Department of Defense, the Law Enforcement and Intelligence Community workforce.

Program Highlights:

- In addition to academic coursework, students of a designated NCAE-CO program have the opportunity to participate in a 12-week summer internship at NSA. Selected students receive contextual learning experiences through cyber labs and cyber exercises and receive mentoring by working alongside NSA employees and Technical Directors.
- Additionally, students of a designated NCAE-CO program are eligible for scholarships and grants through the DoD Cybersecurity Scholarship Program (CySP) and the Federal Cyber Scholarship for Service (SFS) Program.

22 schools currently have the CAE-CO program designation:

Auburn University (Alabama) Carnegie Mellon University (Pennsylvania) Cedarville University (Ohio) Dakota State University (South Dakota) Mississippi State University (Mississippi) Naval Postgraduate School (California) Northeastern University (Massachusetts) Old Dominion University (Virginia) Texas A&M University (Texas) Towson University (Maryland)

United States Air Force Academy (Colorado) United States Naval Academy (Maryland)

University of Arizona (Arizona) University of Cincinnati (Ohio)

University of Nebraska Omaha (Nebraska) University of New Haven (Connecticut University of Texas at Dallas (Texas) University of Texas at El Paso (Texas) University of Texas at San Antonio (Texas) University of Tulsa (Oklahoma) 2012-2021

New York University Tandon School of Engineering (New York) Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University (Virginia)

Visit www.nsa.gov/resources/students-educators/centers-academic-excellence for more details on the NCAE programs.

Questions? Email CAEPMO@nsa.gov